It's inaccurate to state that is_sorted returns an "approximate match". Here's a quick look at how to use them, followed by a more in-depth tutorial. In a past life, he was a UK college lecturer, training teens and adults. Now that you have a basic idea of how Google Sheets Vlookup works, it's time to try your hand in making a few formulas on your own. The coverage of the is_sorted attribute is highly inaccurate and misleading. The Google Sheets LOOKUP function searches through a row or column for a key and returns the value of the cell in a result range located in the corresponding position to the search row or column. Thanks. error. Seems I have got it working, not sure how - $A$2:$Z$20 changed to $A$2:$Z$20 seems to have done the trick - I am sure there is a much better way of doing this formula? If index is less than 1, a Vlookup formula returns the #VALUE! Hi wonder if anyone can help I’m new to Vlookup so sorry if I seem like a complete idiot lol To do vlookup from a different spreadsheet, embed the IMPORTRANGE function in the range argument, like this: =VLOOKUP(A2, IMPORTRANGE("https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/abc", "Sheet1!A1:C10"), 3, false). In a calculated field you can't use a function which requires a range reference. Text does not contain. This is the only difference from a normal VLOOKUP formula – the sheet name simply tells VLOOKUP where to find the lookup table range, B5:C104. I have two worksheets and I want to type in the work order # on the second work sheet and it will autopopulate from the information on the first sheet under that work order number but I am having difficulty in getting the formula right - it has several please where I need this formula to look back at the first sheet for that row - I hope I am explaining myself so that you understand. In real-life spreadsheets, the main table and Lookup table often reside on different sheets. I have a spreadsheet with multiple lines that contain order info (RAW). A formula that uses the V